notes on 26

i. My favorite personal anecdote is that time in preschool when we were asked to draw a picture of ourselves, and I drew a big brown oblong that filled the whole page. My teacher asked me to explain my drawing, and I said, matter-of-factly, like it was so obvious, that it was a spaceship, and that I was inside, sleeping. I was only three years old, yet it was a time in my life when I was the bravest.

ii. Bravery looks different every day. Some days, it’s pressing unmute to contribute something to a meeting after carefully rehearsing the talking points you listed in your notes app. Sometimes, it’s sharing something deeply personal to show someone you care. Sometimes, it just means waking up and facing the day.

iii. Not everything you do every day has to be life-changing. In fact, most days are boring and would tend to feel the same if you don’t take time to look closely for the little miracles that unfold amid the mundane. Most of the time, joy takes a little effort.

iv. It’s true what they say: music can save your life, but you have to really listen. Not just to songs, but to people, to memories, to sunsets.

v. It is easy to give out advice that sounds profound and vaguely poetic, but the truth remains that deep inside, we are all just little children who have no idea about the future.

vi. The great thing about being a child is that everything looks brand new, and a big brown oblong can be a spaceship if you decide to make it so.

Leave a comment